Committee on

Historic and Archaeological Preservation

in Transportation

About the Committee




Members of the Committee on Historic and Archaeological Preservation in Transportation (AME60) are concerned with all cultural resources associated with transportation projects including highways, waterways, transit, and aviation. Cultural resources include: historic properties, structures, districts, landscapes, prehistoric and historic archaeological properties, Traditional Cultural Properties, Native American Interests, 20th-century properties, and issues associated with historic ethnic communities.


Federal laws require that impacts to cultural resources be considered in all federal actions (funded, permitted, loan guarantees, etc.). In addition, significant resources are to be avoided when possible and the impacts to the resource "mitigated" if avoidance is not possible. The Committee is dedicated to finding ways to effectively implement the cultural resources rules and regulations on transportation projects to protect resources and integrate the Historic Preservation laws with the National Environmental Policy Act to facilitate the implementation of needed transportation improvements for the public.


The Committee is charged with identifying cultural resource issues associated with the broad spectrum of transportation projects and programs. This is done through meetings, discussions, surveys, associations with other committees, and conferences. Members of the Committee take a lead in finding and sharing examples of best practices. Research is a primary function of the Committee and includes but is not limited to: 1) identifying critical research needs through interaction with federal Agencies, State Highway Agencies, State Historic Preservation Offices, consultants, universities and colleges, and other interested parties; and 2) developing research problem statements and promoting them for funding.


The Committee provides technical support to the Transportation Research Board who provides similar support to the National Research Council which is under the aegis of the National Academy of Sciences.




Mary Alfson Tinsman, Chairperson


William Anderson, Senior Program Officer


This page is maintained by the AME60 committee and is not endorsed by TRB. Last updated January 2023.